My Stump Speech

Hi,

My name is Alex Bantz and I am writing about why I am interested in a spot on the AST Board of Directors and hopefully some reasons why you should will want to cast your vote for me.

Some (or many) of you may not know me so here is a brief intro on myself as well as my experience in the field of software testing. I currently reside in Indianapolis, IN and work at Salesforce as a Director, Quality Engineering for the Marketing Cloud. I am a proud father of 3 wonderful boys. In my spare time, I enjoy playing tennis and am an avid reader. As my bio states, I have been in the software testing field for 15+ years now.

My participation in AST to this point has been primarily on the educational side – have the Bug Advocacy course still left to go and this will be my 5th CAST. I will be facilitating a few sessions at this year’s CAST and looking forward to being more involved.

Why am I pursuing a spot on the board?

I have always been geared towards community service and this has become my testing community and really want to be an active participant in serving the AST membership and promoting the context driven test community. AST and the community has given so much to me, I would like the opportunity to give back.

Why me?

I am open minded and easy to do business with. I can work with different personalities and am open to new and different ideas.

I am passionate about professional software testing as well as AST. I want to share and spread that passion to others that are either just finding their footing and way to being context driven as well those that maybe have gotten in a rut and need help getting out of it.

I can lead and work on initiatives solo, but also believe in teamwork. We can do so much more as a team than we can do solo. I will do whatever it takes to get the job done and treat people with respect and candor.

Areas of Focus?

Test Leadership/Management – I would like to bring a focus to leadership and management of testing to better educate and develop leaders to cultivate, motivate and champion context driven testers in their organizations.

Communications – I am interested in working on marketing and communication programs for effective outreach and inclusion of the membership.

Generate More Visibility – Want to reach outside of the bubble or “preaching to the choir” and generate more brand recognition of AST to others in testing as well as their dev counterparts. Surprised to find so many that have not heard of AST or CDT.

We talk a lot about what we want or plan to do as board members ,but what would you as members think or feel my focus should be if I were elected to the board? What areas do you feel need more and/or less attention from the AST board of directors? I believe a big part of this role is serving the membership so want to know what you think.

Thank you for your consideration,

Alex Bantz

About Alex Bantz

Director of Quality Engineering at Salesforce in Indianapolis, Indiana. The views expressed here are my own and not those of Salesforce. I am a proud father of 3 wonderful boys. I have been involved in the field of software testing 15 years as both an individual contributor and in managerial/leadership roles. I enjoy not only learning new techniques but also assisting others in their growth and development and am a vocal supporter of the importance of software testing. View all posts by Alex Bantz

Leave a Reply

